Independent Citizens Committee for Millage Oversight (ICCMO)

ICCMO Purpose and Composition

The purpose of the Independent Citizens Committee for Millage Oversight (ICCMO) is to provide oversight and ensure proper fiscal stewardship of the funds received from the ad valorem millage approved by the voters on November 8, 2022. It will be the responsibility of the ICCMO to provide the School Board and the community with information related to the utilization of the 1 mill approved by the voters.

The millage will be in effect for 4 years and the funds will be used to fund compensation and/or benefits for teachers and all employee groups; access to, expansion of and/or support of student educational programs and technology.

The ICCMO will be comprised of no less than seven (5) and no more than eleven (11) members.  Initial applications were received and reviewed by members of the Board of Directors of the Brevard Schools Foundation, who made a recommendation to the School Board for appointments. The ICCMO is independent from BPS and will provide intermittent reports to the School Board and the Audit Committee. Eight (8) ICCMO members were appointed by the School Board in September 2023 and will serve 4-year terms.

ICCMO Members

Gary Shiffrin - Chair

Bill Macheras - Vice Chair

Gregory Ross- Secretary

Kayla Spellman - Treasurer

Julie Albright

Hanna Smith